Located at two sites at Emory University’s main campus, the Robert P. Apkarian Integrated Electron Microscopy Core (IEMC) provides services and training on conventional transmission electron microscopy (TEM), cryo-transmission electron microscopy (Cryo-TEM), single particle cryo-electron microscopy (SP-Cryo-EM), cryo-electron tomography (Cryo-ET), conventional scanning electron microscopy (SEM), and cryo-high resolution scanning electron microscopy (Cryo-HRSEM). The IEMC supports academic, clinical, and industry users. Its focus and technical expertise aim to generate structural data from biological and non-biological specimens to support research in basic, biomedical, and material sciences and engineering.

Robert P. Apkarian, Ph.D.

Our facility is named in honor of Dr. Robert P. Apkarian, an internationally recognized microscopist, who developed chromium-coating methodologies and who was a pioneer of the field of cryo-scanning electron microscopy. He pursued the scientific frontiers of the micro-world, and combined his love of the natural sciences with his passion for electron microscopy.

Core Leadership

Ricardo Guerrero-Ferreira, Ph.D.

Core Director



Vincent Conticello, Ph.D.

Scientific Director


Lab website

Bo Liang, Ph.D.

Scientific Director


Lab website

Graeme L. Conn, Ph.D.

Scientific Director


Lab website

Core Team

Srihari (Ravi) Koripella, Ph.D.

Associate Scientist
Office: Room G236. Biochemistry Connector. Rollins Research Center
Phone: 404-727-8960



Ted J. Whitworth, Ph.D.

Associate Scientist
Office: Room E107. Cherry Logan Emerson Hall
Phone: 404-712-8491


Jeannette V. Taylor, M.SC.

Electron Microscopy Specialist
Office: Room E109. Cherry Logan Emerson Hall
Phone: 404-712-8674


Sondip K. Biswas, Ph.D.

Assistant Scientist
Office: Room E106. Cherry Logan Emerson Hall
Phone: 404-712-8674